AFCON 2023 Qualifiers: Chris Hughton names squad for Madagascar clash

AFCON 2023 Qualifiers: Chris Hughton names squad for Madagascar clash

Chris Hughton has named Ghana’s squad for the match against Madagascar in Group E of the Africa Cup of Nations. On June 18, 2023, the Black Stars Coach will lead a squad of 24 players to Antananarivo.

Alidu Seidu and Kwasi Okyere Wreidt return to the squad, and Ernest Nuamah, who is living in Denmark, gets called up for the first time for the senior national team after an impressive performance for Nordsjaelland in the Danish Superliga.

There is also recall for Amiens defender Nicholas Opoku, Moldova based Patrick Kpozo and Anderlecht midfielder Majeed Ashimeru. Ghana go into the game in June sitting on top of their Africa Cup of Nations Cote D’Ivoire 2023 qualifying group with 8 points after two wins and two draws in the first four matches. The match will take place at Stade Kianja Barea in Antananarivo on Sunday, June 18, 2023 at 17H00.

Chris Hughton names squad for Madagascar clash

Goalkeepers: Lawrence Ati-Zigi (St. Gallen), Joseph Wollacott (Charlton Athletic), Abdul Manaf Nurudeen (KAS Eupen)

Defenders: Denis Odoi (Club Brugge), Alidu Seidu (Clermont Foot), Gideon Mensah (Auxerre), Patrick Kpozo (Sheriff Tiraspol), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo), Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg), Nicholas Opoku (Amiens)

Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Arsenal FC), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax Amsterdam), Majeed Ashimeru (Anderlecht), Salis Abdul Samed (Lens), Edmund Addo (Spartak Subotica)

Wingers: Joseph Painstil (Genk), Osman Bukari (Red Star Belgrade), KamalDeen Sulemana (Southampton), Ernest Nuamah (FC Nordsjaelland) 

Attackers: Andre Ayew (Nottingham Forest), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), Inaki Williams (Athletic Bilbao), Kwasi Okyere Wriedt (Holstein Kiel).

Write A Comment

Pin It

Discover more from Ghnewslive

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading